The Year in Review: Scottish Rally Championship

 This post is from an article on Motorsport UK’s website on Wednesday 27 December 2023

One of the most open and competitive championship battles for years, the Scottish Rally Championship saw four different winners across the eight events, and was only decided on the final stage of the final Rally.

David Henderson and Chris Lees leaped from third to first to claim the title in their Rally2 Fiesta, narrowly beating the Impreza of two-time Scottish Champion Jock Armstrong and Hannah McKillop. John Crawford pipped the Rally4 Peugeot of reigning two-wheel drive champion Peter Stewart to the title in his Mk2, again on the final round of the season, with Harry Marchbank retaining the co drivers’ title. Scott Peacock and Craig Wallace took the Challengers Championship in their Evo 8; Robert Proudlock retained the Junior title in his Vauxhall Adam, and fellow Junior Driver Meghan O’Kane secured the Lady Drivers’ title in her Ford Fiesta.

Next season will feature seven events, with registrations opening in the New Year after publication of the Championship regulations.

📸 Photo of 2023 KNC Groundworks Scottish Rally Champions. Image courtesy of AFMotorsport Media.

About the author

Avatar photo

Roy Campbell

Roy is our Discipline Representative for the Scottish Rally Championship.